About Us

„Effective authority is not based on privilege, but on more knowledge, effort and energy.“

Cyril Northcote Parkinson (1909-93)
Foto: Bernd Roselieb

Auctority was founded 2017 by Randolf Jessl and Andreas Scheuermann in Freiburg, Germany. Further company bases are Wiesbaden and Brussels. The consultancy specialises in leadership communications and authority marketing.

Its core mission is to help new knowledge, innovative ideas and bold projects succeed, and to support creators in gaining the authority and impact they deserve. On the market, at the workplace, in public discourse.

Randolf Jessl

Randolf Jessl is a social scientist, trained journalist and experienced media manager. He has witnessed trendsetters come and go. It made him understand how personalities become authorities and can permanently build a following. Publishing, public speaking, networking and forward-thinking are the key tools in this process. Originality, substance, a sense of mission and the courage to lead the way generate success. Randolf offers critical support to his clients in this process.

Many different disciplines have influenced Randolf: A successful publicist and publisher, he is also passionate about public speaking. Establishing a connection between new work spirit, communication, marketing and leadership is his key mission. Before founding Auctority, he worked as a business journalist at Axel Springer and a corporate publisher at BurdaYukom. At Haufe Group, a german software and media house specialised in expert information, digital transformation and enterprise solutions, Randolf served for a decade as editor-in-chief of a leading business magazine and was member of the Management Board. There, he observed and helped to shape the transformation towards digital, collaborative and social media and witnessed the increasing importance of the person versus the institution. Throughout his  professional life Randolf has dealt with the impacts of these trends on leadership, communication and work organisation. He is one of the initiators of the Project3T- Platform for Workforce Design and a juror at Deutscher Journalistenpreis (djp) in the category Education & Work.

Randolf is married with three sons. He loves nature, the great outdoors and lives at the foot of the Black Forest. He appreciates culture in all its manifestations.

Andreas Scheuermann

Andreas Scheuermann is an experienced public relations expert specialising in strategic positioning and campaigning. He has been advising well-known personalities from the worlds of business, politics and NGOs for many years. He develops and accompanies publications, works a copy writer, designs and organizes events, creates networks, supports committee work, and gives training in media competency and storytelling. He is convinced that whoever wants to convince others of something can only do so by exuding authority.

Prior to the founding of Auctority, Andreas worked for almost two decades as a PR and management consultant and recently made his mark in the area of employer communication in a well-known PR firm. He has published extensively on this topic. Prior to that, the graduate in public administration worked political management, association work and corporate communications. Creating professional networks is an integral part of his work. Andreas is a member of several professional associations in the fields of communication and personnel management. He also teaches about human resources and marketing at a university in southern Germany and sits on a panel of experts of DIN.

Andreas is married and has an adult daughter. He appreciates good food, enjoys discovering foreign countries and meeting unconventional people.

The Network

Knowledge & Content

Scientists from relevant disciplines
Market and opinion researchers
Data analysts
Journalists and specialist authors

Visibility & Marketing

Online marketing experts
Specialist in the fields of lead management
and marketing automation
Search Engine Optimization experts

Creation & Production

Graphic artists
Copywriters
Filmmakers

Culture & Org Development

Business coaches
Human resources and organisational developers
Event managers

Auctority’s network extends to the academic world, to politics, and to international media and associations.

The Foundations

Auctority’s methodology is based on years of working in different specialist disciplines and it derives from several sources.

In communications, Thought Leadership is an approach that does not rely on cheap propaganda but on messaging that conveys  knowledge, facts and inspiration. This is how professional authority can be built.

There is a growing awareness that leadership is not a question of rank. Concepts of “transformational leadership” and “shared leadership” resonate in practice. Rather, authority must be based on better knowledge, a superior level of creativity and a model behavior. This is authority as we understand it.

In sociology, psychology and pedagogics, we have overcome the shudder often associated with what is termed “authoritarian character”. Today, we are guided by a more nuanced view of how authority emerges, what impact it has and how its positive design makes people want to follow an authority.

In online marketing, progress in fields like “semantic search” and complex algorithms has resulted in the fact that the relevance of information on the internet is determined by qualified content and not merely by stuffing keywords. With its Hummingbird update, Google has paved the way for new authority concepts in marketing.

Auctority is closely following these trends. We are passionately committed to derive contemporary practices in communications, leadership and marketing for the benefit of our clients.

Über uns

„Effective authority is not based on privilege, but on more knowledge, effort and energy.“

Cyril Northcote Parkinson (1909-93)
Foto: Bernd Roselieb

Auctority wurde im Sommer 2017 von Randolf Jessl und Andreas Scheuermann in Freiburg im Breisgau gegründet. Weitere Standorte sind Wiesbaden und Brüssel. Das Unternehmen ist spezialisiert auf Leadership Communications & Authority Marketing.

Seine Mission: wertvollem Wissen, innovativen Ideen und mutigen Projekten zum Durchbruch zu verhelfen. Und ihren Urhebern die Autorität und Wirkung zu verschaffen, die ihnen gebührt. Am Markt, in Organisationen, in der Öffentlichkeit.

Randolf Jessl

Randolf Jessl ist studierter Sozialwissenschaftler, gelernter Journalist und erfahrener Medienmanager.  Er hat Trendsetter kommen und gehen sehen. Dabei erkannte er, wie in diesem Prozess echte Persönlichkeiten zu Autoritäten werden und dauerhaft Anhänger finden. Publizieren, Vorträge halten, Netzwerken und Vorausdenken sind hierbei die Werkzeuge. Originalität, Substanz, Sendungsbewusstsein und der Mut voranzugehen, bringen den Erfolg. Darin unterstützt er seine Kunden.

Unterschiedlichste Disziplinen haben Randolf Jessl geprägt: Publishing ist sein Metier, Speaking seine Leidenschaft, Connecting seine Arbeitsgrundlage und Leadership die Herausforderung, die ihn in Theorie und Praxis umtreibt. Bevor er Auctority gründete, war er Wirtschaftsjournalist bei Axel Springer und Corporate Publisher bei BurdaYukom. In der auf Fachinformation, Unternehmenstransformation und Software spezialisierten Haufe Gruppe war er eine Dekade lang Chefredakteur einer führenden Zeitschrift für Management, Recht und Organisation, später dann Herausgeber und zuletzt Geschäftsführer. Dort hat er den Wandel hin zu digitalen, kollaborativen und sozialen Medien und die zunehmende Bedeutung der Person gegenüber der Institution erlebt und gestaltet. Sein ganzes Berufsleben hat er sich mit den Auswirkungen dieser Trends auf Führung, Kommunikation und Arbeitsorganisation befasst. Er gehört zu den Initiatoren von Projekt3T- Offene Plattform für Workforce Design und ist Juror beim Deutschen Journalistenpreis (djp) in der Sektion Bildung & Arbeit.

Randolf Jessl ist verheiratet und Vater von drei Söhnen. Er liebt Natur und Bewegung, lebt deshalb am Fuße des Schwarzwalds und schätzt Kultur in allen ihren Ausprägungen.

Andreas Scheuermann

Andreas Scheuermann ist erfahrener PR-Profi, spezialisiert auf strategische Positionierung und Kampagnenführung. Er berät seit vielen Jahren namhafte Persönlichkeiten aus Wirtschaft, Politik und dem Bereich NGO/NPO. Er konzipiert und begleitet Veröffentlichungen, ist Ghostwriter, entwirft Veranstaltungen, knüpft Netzwerke, unterstützt bei Gremienarbeit, schult Medienkompetenz und Storytelling. Seine Überzeugung: Wer andere Menschen zu etwas bewegen und von etwas überzeugen will, schafft dies nur auf der Basis wahrnehmbarer persönlicher Autorität.

Vor der Gründung von Auctority war er fast zwei Jahrzehnte als Berater tätig und hat zuletzt in einer namhaften Agentur den Bereich Arbeitgeberkommunikation aufgebaut. Zugleich hat er umfassend zu diesem Themenfeld publiziert. Frühere Stationen seines Berufslebens führten den Diplom-Verwaltungswirt in das Politik-Management, die Verbandsarbeit und die Unternehmenskommunikation. Netzwerke und das Netzwerken sind prägender Bestandteil seiner Arbeit. Er gehört mehreren Berufsverbänden aus den Bereichen Kommunikation und Personal an, lehrt Personal und Marketing an einer Hochschule in Süddeutschland und arbeitet als Experte in einem Gremium des DIN mit.

Andreas Scheuermann ist verheiratet und Vater einer Tochter. Er schätzt gutes Essen, die Alltagskultur fremder Länder, unkonventionelle Menschen und neue Erfahrungen.

Unsere Partner

Knowledge & Content

Wissenschaftler aus managementrelevanten Disziplinen
Markt- und Meinungsforscher
Researcher und Data Analysts
Journalisten und Fachautoren

Visibility & Marketing

Online-Marketer
Lead Management Experten
Marketing Automation Experten
SEO-Spezialisten

Creation & Production

Grafiker
Texter
Filmemacher

Culture & Org Development

Business Coaches
Personal- und Organisationsentwickler
Eventmanager

Das Netzwerk der Auctority-Kontakte reicht von der Hochschulwelt
über die Politik bis in die internationale Medien- und Verbandslandschaft.

Unsere Quellen

Konzept und Methodik von Auctority basieren auf der langjährigen Beschäftigung mit unterschiedlichen Fachdisziplinen und schöpfen aus mehreren Quellen.

In der Kommunikation hat sich mit dem Thought Leadership-Ansatz eine Disziplin herausgebildet, die nicht auf wohlfeile Propaganda setzt. Stattdessen fokussiert sie auf Botschaften und Inhalte, die Erkenntnis, Fakten und Inspiration transportieren. So entsteht fachliche Autorität.

In der Debatte um zeitgemäße Führung hat sich mit den Konzepten rund um „transformationale Führung“ und „geteilte Führung“ immer mehr die Einsicht verbreitet, dass Leadership keine Frage des Stils oder des Rangs ist. Vielmehr basiert sie auf besserem Wissen, höherer Schaffenskraft und echtem Vorbildcharakter. Also auf Autorität, wie wir sie verstehen.

In der Soziologie, Psychologie und Pädagogik haben wir das Schaudern über den unheilvollen „autoritären Charakter“ überwunden. Heute leitet uns eine differenzierte Sicht darauf, wie Autorität entsteht, was sie bewirkt und wie ihre positive Ausgestaltung dazu führt, dass Menschen einer Autorität gern folgen.

Im Online-Marketing hat die Hinwendung zur „semantischen Suche“ und komplexen Algorithmen gezeigt, dass es qualifizierte Inhalte und nicht bloße Schlagworte sind, die über die Relevanz von Informationen im Netz bestimmen. Google hat mit seinem Hummingbird-Update dankenswerterweise Autoritätskonzepten im Marketing den Weg bereitet.

All diesen Strömungen, ihren Vordenkern und Anwendern, fühlt sich Auctority verpflichtet. Wir arbeiten mit Leidenschaft daran, daraus zeitgemäße Praktiken in Kommunikation, Leadership und Marketing abzuleiten.